what i’ve been cooking and crafting

I think I’ve taken to nesting in my new apartment like a moth to a flame.  It’s such a great place to come home to, and with all of my roommate’s playful and creative touches, it really is starting to feel like a home.

Here are some of the things I’ve been working on. 

I’ve started making these little banners, and putting them on things all over the apartment.  Have you seen the Portlandia sketch “Put a Bird On It”?

After I made the first banner, my roommate Cat and I walked around for literally 2o minutes putting a banner on everything.  We felt like the two of them.  Banner inspiration is endless: look here, here, and here for some.

Many craft website have free printable templates for banners, but i just freehanded a diamond shape, that once folded over, would make these little triangles.  I made a few prototypes, and used them to trace out the diamonds on all my other paper.  I folded the diamonds over some bakers twine and used Elmers glue to hold them in place.  Easy as that!

We’re working on reorganizing and sprucing up our giant bookshelf, left behind by the previous tenants.  We’re on the look out for cool artifacts to stick in, along with a few banners of course.

Hanging above our kitchen cabinets.  Words to live by!  I have horrible handwriting, so to get these letters perfect, I printed out each letter in a giant size that took up almost the whole page.  I used those to trace letters onto nicer, heavier stock scrap-booking paper.  I strung the letters together on twine by poking two holes in each letter.

As it gets colder, we’re trying to have the last of our summer favorites (this warm weekend weather has been amazing), but those fall flavors are already creeping in.  With the temperature dropping bit by bit each night has become a harsh reminder that fall is really here.

We are BIG Smitten Kitchen fans in our house.  It is an endless source of inspiration.  In the top right you’ll see her spiced applesauce cake in the works.  I wish I had a picture of the final product, but we ate is so fast I forgot to take my camera out (seriously).  She says that once you make the cake on Monday, your event on Friday wouldn’t be complete without it.  And then on Sunday you’re hankering for it again.  This couldn’t be more accurate, we’ve already made it again!

The perfect Sunday breakfast, with help again from Smitten Kitchen.  Chive buttermilk biscuits with slow scrambled eggs, sliced avocado, and sliced oranges.  YUM.

More of fall’s adventures to come!

-Maggie

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what i’ve been cooking and crafting

  1. me oh my everything looks delicious! and i love the little banners – what a cute idea!

  2. suvidapropia says:

    yuuuuummmmm. Things to look forward to upon my return: seeing the best decorated apartment ever.

Leave a Reply

