weekend

I had a nice long weekend off from work, so I went back to my parents house in CT. Here is a little of what I drank and ate this weekend (because really, what else are long weekends for).

For a bbq I re-used some of the decorations that I saved from our graduation party in May.

Following some of our own advice, I decided to make a fancy cocktail for the bbq. Design*Sponge has some great drink recipes, among other things. I am excitedly awaiting their new book, which I pre-ordered a few months ago. If you’re unfamiliar with this website, I suggest checking it out.

I decided to make this delicious recipe.

Combine 1 1/2 pints of fresh raspberries and blackberries and 1-2 tablespoons of sugar, and 6 (or more!!) springs of fresh mint. Mash them all up in a big bowl. If you have a drink muddler, I would recommend using that on the mint. Stir in the juice of 1 lemon, 1 bottle of proseco, and 1/2 cup of vodka (I thought it could even use a little more vodka).

Pour the mixture through a sieve and into another bowl (or pitcher), pushing through to get all those yummy juices out. Throw out the rest of the solids. I put a spring of mint and a few fresh berries in each glass. With a ton of ice, it can serve 4-6 people.

I also made another delicious Smitten Kitchen recipe this weekend.  She calls them the perfect blueberry muffins, which they were.  She ammended the recipe to make 9 or 10 muffins, which was the perfect amount.  Muffins really are best on the first day – so this amount was enough to eat, share, and save one or two for the next morning.

I wish we had 4 day weekends every weekend.  That’s not asking for too much, right?

-Maggie

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

