it must be love

The first time I laid hands on a tennis racket I was three. I wanted desperately to play because I wanted to be just like my sister. She is five years older than I am and when I was three I wanted to do everything she did. A lot has changed since then. 🙂

We both played fairly competitively when we were kids and lived in Dubai. We played less once we moved back to India and went to boarding school. We continued to play in school, but only when the season was on. Our school was in the hills and we had to take a bus down the mountain to get to the airport. I left my racquet on the bus once. It was a Fischer and I still miss it.

I visited my aunt and uncle over the summer in California and Manasi, my cousin, had a surprise waiting for me when I arrived. She walked into her room and brought out, what used to be my most prized possession; my first tennis racket. I gave it to her when I outgrew it and was so thankful that she had kept it!

Here are some photos of our tennis rackets through the years.

From the left: my sister’s current raquet and her first; a (small) collection of our raquets; my current raquet and my first.

The US Open women’s finals took place yesterday and it was such a thrill to see Sam Stosur play so well. It’s a pity Serena’s amazing run to the finals ended like that. But all credit goes to Sam.

I’m so excited to watch the men’s finals today. My favourite, Nadal, is playing my not-so-favourite Djokovic. I’m not going into detail about how I feel about Novak here, but just so everyone is clear- he is truly amazing, his comeback against Federer was one of the best I’ve ever seen and he deserves to be Number 1.

I could go on for hours talking about tennis, but I shall spare you all.

Here is a cute, fictional, movie about tennis called “Wimbledon”. It’s corny and a romantic comedy, but has a lot of genuine tennis-wisdom. Promise.

If you haven’t already read Andre Agassi’s autobiography, Open, please do. Even if you aren’t a tennis fan, it’s rare you’ll get to read such honesty.

So excited to watch the final! No matter who wins, it’s definitely love.

via

-Utts

 

 

 

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Photos, Words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it must be love

  1. BIGNOSEBRO says:

    FRRRRST

  2. BIGNOSEBRO says:

    DEUCE

  3. Pingback: Tennis Love « The Art of Being Sedentary

Leave a Reply

