missed connections

Have you ever seen someone, been intrigued by them for a moment or two before getting off the train, finally getting to the counter after a long wait in a line, or — and never seeing them again? Missed connections are a common phenomenon and many websites are dedicated to cataloguing them and helping people reconnect. Craigslist created a missed connections section, but it can sometimes be sketchy. :s

Sophie Blackall outshines all of these avenues on her blog. They can also be found here in her book which came out last week. She finds interesting missed connections and then illustrates them, creating bittersweet pictures of “what could (have) be(en)”.

Monday, February 14, 2011
– w4m -28
I see you most mornings, and I think you’ve seen me too. I know how crazy this will sound, but I know exactly what our baby would look like.

Sunday, April 3, 2011
-m4m
I fixed the water outside your apt today, you had a problem with your plumbing. I never asked you your name but I thought you were very attractive. Interested? Reply with where you were going and what you were wearing.

Tree With Legs
-w4m (Prospect Park)
Nice pants. I’d like to see more of you…
BTW, your dog winked at me.

Thursday, April 15, 2010
-w4m
Not just those on show, you know that right?

Monday, March 9, 2009
-m4w -28
You had a guitar. I had a blue hat. We exchanged glances and smiles on the subway platform. I pretended to read my New Yorker but I couldn’t concentrate. You got on the Q and I stayed on to wait for the B. You were lovely. 

Have you ever had a missed connection? 

p.s. Don’t forget to enter our giveaway!

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Art, Photos, Watch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to missed connections

  1. This is brilliant. Love it!

  2. ZG says:

    UMMM I NEVER KNEW THERE WAS A TERM FOR THIS
    Missed connections are my THING

  3. BIGNOSEBRO says:

    THRRRRRRRRSTTH

  4. dddyyyooo says:

    DM — in the taxi stand, gave “her” the taxi… then, why? why did he let her go…? So, he took the next taxi, and said (yep) “follow that taxi”. Caught up, handed over a scrap with a phone, email… She called. They bf/gf’d for a while. They broke up.

    The End.

Leave a Reply

