frame wall

One of the walls in our living room needed a pick me up.  We threw up some big pinwheels when we had our housewarming party to fill up the space, but it was time to think of something more permanent.  I was looking around for some inspiration and found this picture.

via

I loved all the frame collages, so my roomies and I tried it out for myself.

We scoured around a few flea markets, I took a few from my mom’s house (thanks mom!), and of course, IKEA.  We laid them all out on the floor first before we got them up on the wall.  We left a few of the frames empty, knowing that we’d add to it as we amassed more frames.

We were a little short on art, to stick in the frames – so we made our own!  Using a craft knife, we cut out one page from an old book, and then trimmed it down to fit into our frame.  Then using my stamp collection we made a few different patterns and landed on this one.  The frame is sea-foam green, so we thought a whale would be appropriate!

Here it is!  Still a work in progress.  I’ll post new pictures when we add more stuff.

And then my roommate made me a delicious dinner.  Grilled cheese with caramelized onions and apple.  Yes, I ate a piece before I remembered to take a picture.  I was just too excited.

-Maggie

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to frame wall

  1. ariele says:

    I love! It is so beautiful!

    ****************
    What are your thoughts on wearable crafts? I would love to see how you would conjure a silk flower crown. Or a real flower crown! Maybe for spring? Put it in your pocket.

    And, not to be bossy, but as the cold approaches and we stay more and more inside with a good book, I can’t help but wonder how a nosurefooting bookmark might appear…

    just a sprinkle of thoughts! Much love to you both.

Leave a Reply

