friendsgiving!

This year, my roommates and I decided we should host a thanksgiving-y meal for our friends, before we all separated this week to spend some  (much needed) time at home.  Friends + Thanksgiving = Friendsgiving!  I did this once in high school, and we all still talk about that night.  This weekend was such a success, I can’t imagine that I won’t be doing this every year.  I declare the Saturday before Thanksgiving, Friendsgiving! from this day forward.

We woke up in the morning and did a little menu planning (remember the jars?).  We went down to Fairway for some fresh fall produce, and with a lot of chopping and prepping help, we made a feast for 20!

Our completely vegetarian menu included:

Vegetable Pot Pies (Instead of chicken we used: acorn squash, butternut squash, turban squash, potatoes, and sweet potatoes.  If we could have found it, we would have used pumpkin as well!)
Chesnut, Leek, and Apple Stuffing
Cranberry Chutney
Sauteed Kale, Green Beans, and Garlic
Pumpkin Butter (A huge hit!  I highly recommend this one)
Kale Salad
Green Salad

I wish I could say I remember to do this in advance, but sometime while the stuffing was in the oven, I quickly stamped out 30 or so cards with the words “i’m thankful for…” on the top.  I left them out on the table, and throughout the meal people filled them out.  I hung two squares of cork board on the wall near my happy friendsgiving banner, where everyone could stick their cards.  We all wrote them anonymously, but it was so much fun to guess who wrote what.  People milled around the boards all night looking at some of the great responses: red wine, friends giving… me food, good health, jean shorts, barack obama, and IT ALL.  What are you thankful for?

I’m thinking of framing some of our responses and putting it up in the apartment.  It’s a great idea if you’re hosting or as a guest.  Make and bring your “i’m thankful for…” cards in advance, and distribute them throughout the night.  Weeks later, you can mail your host a framed collage of all the cards.  I would love to get that gift!

And then for dessert…
Pear Pie
Apple Tarte
Pecan Pie
Jam and Almond Tarte

All with a little ice cream of course!

And a happy friendsgiving to you!

-Maggie

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to friendsgiving!

  1. Sammy says:

    beautiful! food, people, ideas.. all beautiful!

  2. this is really sweet. Lovely Idea. Must do it in Mumbai too

  3. BIGNOSEBRO says:

    Y SO SRS BEARDBRO?

  4. Pingback: friendsgiving 2012 |

Leave a Reply

