Happy Holi Y’all

It’s Holi!

Holi is like one massive paint-ball fight. Holi celebrates the end of winter and the coming of spring; and the triumph of good over evil (like almost every other Hindu festival). 😉

I haven’t ever been a fan of playing Holi, but it’s a fun festival. The family did a little puja in the morning and then went over to my Uncle’s house for an extremely non-traditional, non-vegetarian breakfast. But not before little Midori threw a water balloon at me. She had saved it *just* for me.

Aside from throwing colour and water balloons at each other, it’s also fairly common to drink Bhang while playing.  I can’t think of another way to describe but weed milk. I’ve never tried it but I know it makes everyone quite merry. In North India there are a few government authorised Bhang shops. Serena and I have actually been to the one in the picture on the Wikipedia page.

People have started celebrating Holi all over the world- here’s how the Hare Krishnas in Utah celebrate Holi. I think they think they’re rockstars.

I found out there was something called The Colour Run in the States. You run five kilometers and get colour thrown at you every kilometer. Hilarious.

Happy Holi Y’all! Here’s to Spring! (Especially all you New Yorkers, who are getting their first Spring day today!)

-Utts

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Watch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Holi Y’all

  1. sedentaryart says:

    HAPPY HOLI UTTS! I so wish I was there. I LOVE Holi… Also, I can’t believe the wikipedia page shows a picture of Jaisalmer! I miss our hide out and getting lost. 🙂

  2. BIGNOSEBRO says:

    wat the wat.

  3. oh my goodness holi just sounds like the most fun!
    and the color run? one day i’m going to do it!
    happy spring!
    – cori.

Leave a Reply

