running is love

My love affair with running started in 2006 when I was in 11th grade. I woke up a few mornings at 5:30 am to run around the lake in my boarding school town. Up in the mountains, the cool morning air, NO PEOPLE- it was perfect. I had no idea why I hadn’t been taking running seriously before that. Running hasn’t always been a constant in my life, but it’s slowly becoming a necessity. After a long day, all I need is a road, a trail, a track, sometimes a treadmill. (Though I don’t much like that last option.)

You all know nosurefooting has an obsession with books but I’m a little disappointed with the lack of good literature about running. I recently read Born to Run by Christopher McDougall and became nothing short of obsessed with the Tarahumara. I’ll write more about them some other day, but there’s a Tarahumara saying, When you run on the earth and run with the earth, you can run forever. Runners always say there are some things only runners understand, and this is one of those things. When I run on a track (the closest thing I can get to the “earth” in Bombay), there is often a point I hit in my run where I feel like I’ll never stop. Of course, I do, but that runner’s high? It really does exist. No matter how good or bad the day has been, running makes it better.

Nike knows what I’m talking about.

There is so much more to say about running, but for now I’ll just leave you with some tunes. Music has been a big part of my running. I’m one of those people who likes clichéd inspiration playing in my ears. No judgement please. I made an 8tracks mix that might inspire you to go running or inspire your run, unless of course you’re a real bad ass and run without music. (Something I’m working on.) 🙂

You’ve seen this ad before, but it is perfect, so watch it again.

Go tip the balance.

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to running is love

  1. Laura says:

    This is my new favorite running ad:

  2. that commercial expresses everything that i feel about running. i can’t wait to add some of your tunes to my running mix!

  3. suvidapropia says:

    UTTS, you need to read this book…
    http://www.amazon.com/What-Talk-About-When-Running/dp/0307269191

    Haruki Murakami is a boss.

Leave a Reply

