ahmedabad- a squashed city

A few weeks ago I posted about my trip to Jodhpur. On those same travels I also visited Ahmedabad, a city in Gujarat. While Ahmedabad is quite the development story, I much preferred walking around the old, in my opinion squashed, city. It’s full of these little lanes called “pols” and these pols are full of dozens of homes stacked on top of each other. Development schevelopment- looking at these old homes was far more interesting than seeing their brand new bus service.

Every street you turned into there was another treasure waiting to be found. Like this one.

All that stacking can’t be good for these unbelievably amazing wooden beams though. See that big crack? :/

While galavanting around the city in 40 degree weather (about 108 for you Farenheit people) we stepped into a cloth store to shop and cool off (they had an AC). We left our shoes outside and when we came back out one of my shoes was wet. For a minute I thought it was just water from a dripping AC but then I saw a goat. And much to the disgust and amusement of the shop owners, my sister and her friend, I raised the shoe to my nose and took a big whiff of goat pee. Mmmm yummy. NOT. One of the shop owners poured water all over my shoe, I put it on and we were on our way. Unfortunately I was so distracted I didn’t get a photo of the culprit. Don’t worry, I washed my foot and shoe in anti-septic when we got home.

The old city has so many rusty things

and forgotten things

and locked up things

and beautiful things

and beautiful people.

-Utts

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ahmedabad- a squashed city

  1. ddddyyyooooo says:

    astounding layers of layered detail…

  2. earthtofire says:

    Amazing writing Uttara,you really got the essence of old Ahmedabad.

  3. Hi Utts. Its definitely one of my favourite cities in this country. You must watch the film Patang I think you will love it. I wrote about it and the old city of Ahmedabad as well.
    Maybe you would like to read:
    http://followmyrecipe.blogspot.in/2011/02/amdavad-ka-pyar-uttarayan-day-2.html

  4. Great collection. If you are a match for our site and want to submit any of these or other photographs, we would be glad to publish them (with a link and your info of course).

  5. BIGNOSEBRO says:

    FOURST

  6. suvidapropia says:

    So beautiful Utts!

  7. Pingback: goa- the best state |

Leave a Reply

