goa- the best state

The beach is my favourite place. It’s a family joke that I always look like I’m going to one.

I remember going to Goa as a child and all I did was drink fresh lime sodas and swim all day.

I absolutely loved that swimsuit. It took be forever to throw it away. Oh wait. Maybe I still have it. :/

The mom, dad and I all needed a break from the catastrophe that is Bombay, so we packed our bags and went to Goa for ten days. Up until this trip,  I continued this tradition of doing nothing in Goa and spent every hour of sunshine on the beach and every other hour eating all the seafood I could get my hands on. But this time, the family and I decided to explore a little.

We went to a fort with a dreamy staircase

and to things forgotten.

I went on the most magical runs

and found unreal views

and friends

and family.

I even found some rainclouds to run away from.

And then we went to waterfalls.

The next time you’re in Goa, I highly recommend the Dudhsagar waterfalls. It’s a bit of a drive to get to the base (from Panjim) and from there (in the monsoon) the only thing that can get you up to the actual falls are motorbikes. The “road” is literally twice the size of a motorbike tyre, but fear not, the drivers have this drive down.

I was so impressed that my parents agreed to embark on this crazy journey with me. We each got on a motorbike with a driver and off we went. The guy who was driving me introduced himself as Rasool, but after driving me through the forest for one and a half hours and taking me on a hike to get closer to the waterfalls he told me I could call him Bono. (pronounced like oh no) So if you’re ever in the area, ask for him and tell him Uttara sent you 🙂

See that little mud path to the left of the train tracks? Yeah. That’s the “road”.

Of course I spent some time bronzing myself and reading in the sun

and watching the sun set

and marveling at the changing sky.

It never gets old. Go to Goa- the grass is always greener.

-Utts

PS- My trip to Jodhpur & Ahmedabad. And our trip to Montauk.

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Holidays, Photos, spaces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to goa- the best state

  1. JR says:

    Thank you for this tasty bite of sunshine. 🙂

  2. Ryan says:

    What an incredible set of photos.

  3. Pingback: monsoon | earthtofire

  4. suvidapropia says:

    Take me with you next time?

  5. Pingback: abandoned blog, abandoned homes |

Leave a Reply

