things found

We were taking down our Christmas decorations the other day and I saw this faded red box that my friend Ruby gave me in middle school. In it were all these lovely things I had tucked so carefully away that I had forgotten about them.

I’m not sure why we wrote our names on a piece of wood, but it’s apparently one of those things you do when you’re young- write your name on everything. Also- old Altoid boxes make the best storage for jewelry.

I thought I lost this ring! I might have bought it on a field trip somewhere in south India. So glad it’s back in my life.

This funny cat box was either mine or my sister’s. We bought it at a neighbour’s garage sale in Dubai.

No idea where this crystal came from but it’s so beautiful in this pretty box lined with blue velvet.

A random pill bottle with beads and stones.

Pill boxes now used for jewels.

I bought this necklace on a trip to Pune many many years ago. I’m not sure I’d buy it again. 😉

I went to boarding school when I was in 4th grade and have been trying to master the art of saying goodbye ever since. Georgie, my best friend in elementary school, moved back to Australia at the end of 5th grade and it’s safe to say I was rather heartbroken. I think it was the first time I ever had to say goodbye to someone with the knowledge that I might never see them again.  Among other things, she gave me this beautiful silver box. It reminds me of all the odd things we did as kids, languages we made up, sleepovers we had and things we crafted. Saying goodbye means having boxes of memories.

To things forgotten and found.

-Utts

About nosurefooting

Two Sarah Lawrence grads armed with their cameras, who have a penchant for making things pretty, following their eyes, following their hearts, even if they aren't always standing on their own two feet.
This entry was posted in Found, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to things found

  1. sue says:

    lovely, what a nice share… and love your henna fingers…

Leave a Reply

